Dr. V. Kumaresan, M.Sc, Ph.D. , -Assistant Professor and Head          Back















                         The prestigious department of Botany was started by the year 2012. The first batch of 32 students were enrolled for their B.Sc., Botany Degree programme in Tamil medium, followed by 32 + 32 students in the subsequent years i.e. 2013 & 2014. The first batch of B.Sc., Botany students will be graduating by April 2015. Currently the department has two permanent professors and 5 guest lecturers. The curriculum for the degree programme was drafted and approved by the affiliated Periyar University, Salem. The syllabus follows the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS). Our students are exposed to major core papers, allied papers and also elective and non-major elective (NME) papers.  They are exposed to practical experiments with hands on training on major areas of Botany at degree level.  Apart from their regular class room teaching the students are exposed to natural environments in the form of study tour to appreciate the natural environment and Biodiversity. This year our 3rd year students were taken to Ooty and surrounding areas to lean the diversity of plants in the higher altitudes. Periodic seminars by external experts also arranged for their exposure. On 25.02.2015, Rev. Fr. Britto and his team from Rapinat Herbarium, St. Joseph College, have delivered a talk on digital herbarium preparation.  As botany students, they are regularly involved in gardening, tree planting. Our students are actively involved in sports and games.  With the kind permission of our beloved principal, from this year we have started the “Eco-Club” and the inaugural function was launched by our District Forest Officer, Attur  Mr. K. Dhanabal.  Without functions, there will not be any fun, our students conducted many events such as pongal festival Pooja festival, inaugural and valedictory functions of our Botany association.  Finally we are very proud to say that our department has got the approval to start B.Sc., Botany in English medium from the next academic year


Dr. S. Sudhakaran, M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D.,-  HOD 

Dr. V. Kumaresan, M.Sc, Ph.D.